Read more of me (us) at…

The World of Chinese! Last week I started working as  Senior Editor at an awesome bi-monthly publication on all things Chinese. Linguistics nerds, serious Sinophiles and people who love the quirky and weird in life as much as I do, I urge you to give the strangely retro-looking magazine (Project #1 – redesign for 2011) a try. The writing is stellar and with every issue I find myself chuckling to the sublime humor of our scribes (Bravo to AD, NR, CC and everyone else).Here’s a sampling from our most popular section, “The Hard Seat” (more on our website):

The Perfect Shoe

When I was first introduced to Feiyue shoes, I was told they were once worn by China’s famed Shaolin monks. I’ve never confirmed this fact, but I do know that Orlando Bloom and Brad Pitt have both recently been spotted sporting these Chinese classics.

Monday, October 04, 2010 BY BILLY CHUNG KWOK
E-mail // Share Print

When I was first introduced to Feiyue shoes, I was told they were once worn by China’s famed Shaolin monks. I’ve never confirmed this fact, but I do know that Orlando Bloom and Brad Pitt have both recently been spotted sporting these Chinese classics. This news, of great interest to China’s fashionable youth, exploded on the Internet and within minutes they were a hit with China’s vintage clothing connoisseurs.

Feiyue shoes experienced their heyday in the mid-’60s. They were produced in Shanghai and 1.6 million pairs were shipped across China annually. They were the dependable, go-to athletic shoe. Not trendy per se, but reliable. A generation and a half later, these shoes are back with a vengeance. Distribution numbers may have fallen to a few hundred thousand per year, but bloggers, hipsters and even a French designer have taken great interest in this Shanghai classic. – B.C.K.

Leave a Reply

