What do Chinese people want?

I write research for an investment company for a living. Because the sector I cover happens to be consumer goods and retail, I obsess over what Chinese people want, in the literal sense. Is it LV, Gucci, or Prada? KFC, Chongqing-style fast food, or fine dining? A new car, a bigger house, or a ticket abroad?

As I traveled around China last year talking to people about their material desires I realized that their intangible wants were more compelling. Here’s what I found on self-actualizing in the pseudo-communist-capitalist state, published in the December 2012 issue of NewsChina.

Copy of NewsChina 2012-12

 

Leave a Reply

